Skip to content

Shabbat @ March 13, 2009

March 13, 2009

Reader: Bless the Lord, the blessed One. Bar-choo et Adonai ha-m’vo-rhch.

Congregation: Blessed is the Lord, the blessed One, for all eternity. Ba-rooch Adonai ha-m’vo-rahch l’oh-lam v-ed.

James, Jr. or James II was a born in 1733, he was a revolutionary soldier and farmer, and he died in Madison County, Georgia. He married Elizabeth Riley and she was born on February 18th, 1854. His first wife, Elizabeth Riley was joined in holy matrimony on July 28th, 1786 in Surrey County, North Carolina. The Bondsman for marriage union of his sister, Elizabeth to James Sanders II, was Edward Riley.

On December 1811, Madison County was formed from Oglethorpe and Elbert County and other counties. James II was among the first Justices of the Inferior court n the county of Madison, he served from 1812 to 1822. He was a foreman in the Grand Jury in 1817, 820, 1821, 1823 and 1827. He was a member of Moriah Primitive Baptist Church, and donated land on Brushy Creek, in Madison County, Georgia.

The second wife of James II, was Flora, according to the widow mentioned in his will that is filed at Madison County, Georgia. On December 25, 1846 his second wife Flora was now a widow and his son n law, John Shepherd was executors of James II estate. The Land on Brushy Creek, in Madison County, Georgia, was sold to Sanders W. Colbert of Madison County, but the land that the church sat on was not ever sold, to this date.

WILL OF JAMES 5 SANDERS OF MADISON COUNTY, GEORGIA

Will Book B:16 -18. In the name of God, Amen. I, JAMES SANDERS, of Madison County, Georgia,
being feeble in body but Of sound mind and disposing thought, and knowing it is appointed once for
all men to die, do make this to be my last Will and Testament, revoking all other wills by me made.

1. I recommend my Soul to God who gave it and my body to the earth to be buried in a Christian
like manner at the discretion of my friends. And as touching my worldly estate which it has been the
Will of Almighty God to bestow on me, I dispose of it in the following manner. My desire is that my just debts, if any, be paid.

2. I give to my beloved wife, FLORA, my family Bible, Testament, and hymn book, the feather bed and bedstead, and as much furniture as is necessary.

3. I give to TABITHA SHEPHERD, wife of JOHN SHEPHERD, and to the heirs of ELIZABETH DICKSON, dec’d, wife of WILLIAM DICKSON, dec’d, and to MALINDA LEEPER, wife of HUGH B. LEEPER, 3 tracts of land, one in Meriwether Co. the other two in Muscogee Co., reference to the grants now in my possession, which I recommend to be sold and the proceeds to be equally divided between my 2 daughters named and the heirs of my deceased daughter, ELIZABETH.

4. And further I give unto my beloved wife, FLORA, and my daughters, TABITHA SHEPHERD,
MALINDA LEEPER, and to ELIZABETH DICKSON and heirs of my deceased daughters ELIZABETH DICKSON and SALLY DICKSON, the residue (or whole) of my estate both real and personal to be equally divided among them. But I do recommend that the Negroes, if it consistently can be done be divided by lot or otherwise, without making sale of them.

5. And it is my will further, that the property both real and personal which I have given unto my children, TABITHA SHEPHERD, ELIZABETH DICKSON, Dec’d, and MALINDA LEEPER, shall not be considered as any part of my estate (for what I have given them I gave it freely, and for them to use the same as their own forever, and it is never to be called in question after my death.

6. And I do give my Executors hereafter named, full power to make sale of my lands lying in Madison County either in small lots or the whole together, either publicly or privately as may be considered by them the most to the interest of the legatees, and also the negroes if they cannot be divided as above stated, namely, Charles, Moses, Joseph, Flora, Mary, Judith, and Jane.

And lastly, I hereby nominate my beloved wife, FLORA SANDERS, JOHN SHEPHERD, HUGH B. LEEPER, and JAMES LONG, my executors and executrix of this my last Will and Testament. In witness I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 13th day of March 1846.

Jona Sanders, Sanders W. Colbert, Richard T. Sorrells, andWilliam Sanders

S/James Sanders
Codicil, 8 Sept. 1846. I further give to my wife, FLORA, her own saddle and bridle and provisions to do her for 12 months. I permanently give to my wife, FLORA, the Negroes Flora and Jane which she is to take at their value. I give to TABITHA SHEPHERD, Moses and Judith, and to MALINDA LEEPER, Joseph and Mary. They are also to take them at their value. My Negro man Charles to JOHN SHEPHERD or HUGH B. LEEPER, as they can make out best between themselves; take him at value also. After the valuation and dividing of the named negroes, if any of the legatees have received more than their share, they shall refund back, so as to make each legatee equal in estate. My 2 deceased daughters, ELIZABETH and SALLY DICKSON, their heirs shall have their proportional share out of my estate.

S/James Sanders

More About

Name: JAMES SANDERS, JR.:
Religion: Primitive Baptist
Occupation: Planter
Residence: Johnston & Surry Co. NC, Oglethorpe Co. Ga.
Military: Revolutionary Soldier
Oglethorpe>Madison Co. Ga. in 1812

Children of JAMES 5 SANDERS and ELIZABETH RILEY are:

1) TABITHA 6 SANDERS, b. November 14, 1786; m. JOHN SHEPARD, June 24, 1813, Madison Co. Ga..

2) ELIZABETH SANDERS, b. September 02, 1789; d. Bef. March 13, 1846; m. WILLIAM DICKSON, March 04, 1806, Oglethorpe Co. Ga.

3) SARAH SANDERS, b. May 16, 1791; d. August 30, 1835; m. WILLIAM HUGH DICKSON, July 18, 1810, Oglethorpe Co. Ga.

4) MELINDA SANDERS (TWIN), b. June 02, 1793; m. HUGH B. LEEPER, 1812, Madison Co. Ga.

5) MELINTHA SANDERS (TWIN), b. June 02, 1793.

6) ELEANOR RILEY SANDERS, b. April 11, 1795.

As a revolutionary soldier, James served from Surry County, North Carolina. He did file a pension claim from Madison County, Georgia. He drew in the 1827 Georgia Land Lottery as a Revolutionary Soldier of the Adairs District, Madison County, Georgia. He received two grants from the 7t District and 2nd Section, Muscogee County, Lot #151, 2021 acs and 2nd District and 2nd Section Muscogee County, Lot #176, 202’1 acs [Surveyor General Dept. Georgia State Archives].

In 1844, Charity Ward, James II sister, made a Pension Claim from her Husband, Henry Ward’s Revolutionary service. In her affidavit of 1845, she claimed that her husband Henry Ward had served alongside her brother and was in the same unit, as her brother James II, son of James I, who was the son of Richard, and the son of John; all Jacobites and descendants of Israel (Isaiah 45: 1-7; 19-23 and 25; and Isaiah 46: 3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13). Be mindful that in the book of Exodus, Chapter 6 and verse 16, The sons names of the sons of Levi according to their generations: Gershon, Kohath, and Merari. And the years of the life of Levi were one hundred and thirty-seven. In verse 25 we read that Eleazar, Aaron’s son, took for himself one of the daughters of Putiel as a wife; and she bore him Phinehas, the son of Eleazar, the son of Aaron (Joshua 24:33; Exodus 6:25; Judges 20:28; Exodus 6:16). Kohath was the son of Levi and the father of aaron and lived to be one hundred and thirty-three years old. Amram, the brother of Jochebed lived to be one hundred thirty seven years. Jochebed and Aaron were the Parents of Moses and Miriam. Kohath was also the father of Izhar, Hebron and Uzziel (Joshua 22:30-32).

Less is More (Hebrews 7:7):

Kohath was the brother of Jochebed, and the father of Amram. Aaron was the son of Amram, and the brother to Moses and Miriam. Eleazar and Putiel, were the father of Phinehas, however, Eleazar was the son of Aaron. Aaron marries Elisheba and their child is named Eleazar (Exodus 27:20).

The Sons of Gershon that help move the Israelites out of Egypt were Libni and Shimei (Shimi), and Merari’s son’s were Mahali and Mushi.

Charity Sanders Ward was sworn and subscribed in an affidavit for a pension claim on behalf of herself as a widow and her brother, on January 9th, 1845 that: James II, the brother of Charity in June 1780 – 3 months; James II, went home to visit between September 24th and 25th, 1780; James II and Henry Ward were in the same unit, and together; James II was assigned to Captain Reid’s Company, and Infantry Unit; James also volunteered in a troop of horse commanded by Lt. John Blacock (October 1, 1780); James II was a county Ranger.

Like his uncle William, a substitute was appointed for the service of James first call to the service. James Sanders, Sr., had an outstanding military career as a Revolutionary War Soldier. Many of his descendants, including my self are eligible for membership in the Daughters or Sons of the American Revolutionary. However, James Jr., was called for service the second time and he submitted to the military, the Continental Army. The children left extensive records pertaining to their families’ material resources: deeds, returns of estates, census’, tax lists, wills and other records.

Isaiah 45 (King James Version) verses: 1-7; 19-23 and 25

1 Thus saith the LORD to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have Holden, to subdue nations before him; and I will loose the loins of kings, to open before him the two leaved gates; and the gates shall not be shut;

2 I will go before thee, and make the crooked places straight: I will break in pieces the gates of brass, and cut in sunder the bars of iron:

3 And I will give thee the treasures of darkness, and hidden riches of secret places, that thou mayest know that I, the LORD, which call thee by thy name, am the God of Israel.

4 For Jacob my servant’s sake and Israel mine elect, I have even called thee by thy name: I have surnamed thee, though thou hast not known me.

5 I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me:

6That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the LORD, and there is none else.

7 I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.

19 I have not spoken in secret, in a dark place of the earth: I said not unto the seed of Jacob, Seek ye me in vain: I the LORD speak righteousness, I declare things that are right.

20 Assemble yourselves and come; draw near together, ye that are escaped of the nations: they have no knowledge that set up the wood of their graven image, and pray unto a god that cannot save.

21 Tell ye, and bring them near; yea, let them take counsel together: who hath declared this from ancient time? Who hath told it from that time? Have not I the LORD? And there is no God else beside me; a just God and a Saviour; there is none beside me.

22 Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I am God, and there is none else.

23 I have sworn by myself, the word is gone out of my mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, That unto me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.

25 In the LORD shall all the seed of Israel be justified, and shall glory.

Isaiah 46 (King James Version), verses 3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13

3 Hearken unto me, O house of Jacob, and all the remnant of the house of Israel, which are borne by me from the belly, which are carried from the womb:

4 And even to your old age I am he; and even to hoar hairs will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you.

10 Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure:

11 Calling a ravenous bird from the east, the man that executed my counsel from a far country: yea, I have spoken it, I will also bring it to pass; I have purposed it, I will also do it.

12 Hearken unto me, ye stout hearted, that are far from righteousness:

13 I bring near my righteousness; it shall not be far off, and my salvation shall not tarry: and I will place salvation in Zion for Israel my glory.

Isaiah 11:1-2 1And there shall come forth a rod out of the stem of Jesse, and a Branch shall grow out of his roots:

2And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD;

Genesis 49:8-12 (King James Version)

8Judah, thou art he whom thy brethren shall praise: thy hand shall be in the neck of thine enemies; thy father’s children shall bow down before thee.

9Judah is a lion’s whelp: from the prey, my son, thou art gone up: he stooped down, he couched as a lion, and as an old lion; who shall rouse him up?

10The sceptre shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet, until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be.

11Binding his foal unto the vine, and his ass’s colt unto the choice vine; he washed his garments in wine, and his clothes in the blood of grapes:

12His eyes shall be red with wine, and his teeth white with milk.

Isaiah 48

1Hear ye this, O house of Jacob, which are called by the name of Israel, and are come forth out of the waters of Judah, which swear by the name of the LORD, and make mention of the God of Israel, but not in truth, nor in righteousness.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

